Bird Face Wendy

Things relevant to reading, writing, publishing or marketing teen fiction.

A Shrinky-dink Description

on May 1, 2013

This is the shortest blog post I’ve ever written and may ever write.

How do you describe a whole novel in one sentence? Here’s my one-liner for BIRD FACE:

Anonymous sticky-notes, a scheming bully, and a ruined summer send almost-fourteen-year-old Wendy Robichaud down a trail of secrets and self-discovery.

I challenge all you writers to do that for your novel or work of nonfiction. Please post your one-liners in the comments. Let’s learn and have some fun!

8 responses to “A Shrinky-dink Description

  1. A part dystopian, part fantasy adaptation of the book of Ruth.

    Not too good, eh?

  2. I have two different manuscripts. 🙂 So I’ll give two one-liners.

    DEADLY SPLENDOR: After Allura, a sixteen-year-old descendant of folkloric man-eaters, crushes on a human guy, she must protect him from becoming her sister’s next meal.

    SHATTERED CHOICES: When Watcher Lucas foresees April’s impending murder, he must defy every rule to cross dimensions and save her life.

    • Thanks for sharing those, Rachel. I see you’ve made Allura’s story even more interesting by having her battle her own sister over the guy–a battle for his life! I look forward to the book’s publication.

  3. Beth Steury says:

    PIECES of a LIFE: What happens when Preston’s true-love-didn’t-wait past collides with Maggie’s white-wedding-dress future?

    • Thanks for participating, Beth! Did you already have that tucked away somewhere to pull out if requested? I didn’t write one until I was forced to, but it sure helped me ascertain what my story was really about.

Leave a Reply

